The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C.


1-877-MISS-DUI / 1-877-647-7384

Se Habla Español
945 N. Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705

Casas Adobes DUI Defense Attorney

Casas Adobes DUI attorneys

Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer Serving Casas Adobes

The U.S. Department of Transportation has placed the state of Arizona in the top 10 states in the country for drunk driving fatalities. Given this high number of deaths, it is no surprise the state has such harsh penalties for people convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).

At The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C., we have extensive experience defending clients against these charges, and we understand how stressful the idea of a potential DUI conviction can be. We know that the outcome of your case can impact not only your personal and professional life but also your freedom.

The following is a brief overview of the penalties for each DUI offense level. For more detailed information about your circumstances, call our office to speak with one of our Casas Adobes, AZ DUI defense lawyers.

DUI Charges in Arizona

Under Arizona law, if you are 21 years or older, and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures over 0.08 percent, you can be arrested for DUI. If you are a commercial driver's license (CDL) holder, the legal limit is 0.04 percent. Any driver under the age of 21 may be arrested for DUI if their BAC measures over 0.00 percent.

If a driver is charged with a DUI, the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) Motor Vehicle Division office will automatically suspend their driving privileges for 90 days under the state's implied consent law, although the driver may be eligible for a restricted driving permit after 30 days. In many cases, the driver must also install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle. If the driver refused to submit to a BAC test, they could face an administrative license suspension for up to one year.

These administrative penalties are separate from any criminal DUI charges the driver may face, and they can be very time-consuming and expensive to manage. A Casas Adobes DUI defense lawyer can also help you with administrative charges.

First Offense DUI

A driver convicted of a first-offense DUI will be jailed for a minimum of 10 days. In addition to the administrative license suspension mentioned above, a criminal conviction will also result in a court-ordered 90-day license suspension. The court will also impose a minimum fine of $1,250 and require the driver to undergo a substance abuse screening and attend any recommended treatment programs. The driver may also be required to perform community service.

Second and Subsequent Offense DUI

If the driver has had one or more prior DUI convictions within seven years, another conviction will result in a jail sentence of at least 90 days and a fine of up to $3,000. The driver will also lose their license for 12 months. The court will also require a substance abuse screening, any recommended treatment programs, and community service.

Extreme DUI

If the driver's BAC measured 0.15 percent or higher, he or she will be charged with extreme DUI. Penalties for convictions are:

  • First Offense:The driver will be jailed for a minimum of 30 days with no chance of a suspended sentence or probation. Their fine will be a minimum of $2,500. Substance abuse screening, mandatory recommended treatment, community service, and IID installation are all also required.
  • Second Offense:The driver will be jailed for at least 120 days, a minimum fine of $3,250, and a license revocation of 12 months. This conviction also includes substance abuse screenings, mandatory recommended treatment, community service, and IID installation.

Aggravated DUI

There are certain scenarios where a driver may be charged with aggravated DUI:

  • The driver is charged with a DUI with a driver's license that is suspended, revoked, or canceled.
  • This is the driver's third DUI within 84 months.
  • The driver refused to submit to a BAC test while they were under an IID requirement.
  • The driver had at least one passenger under 15 years old in the vehicle.

If a person is convicted of an aggravated DUI, they will be imprisoned for up to two years. Their license will be suspended for one year. Substance abuse screening, recommended treatment, community service, and IID installation are also all required.

Contact Our Casas Adobes, AZ DUI Defense Lawyers

The penalties for a DUI arrest and conviction in Arizona are extremely serious. If you have been arrested for DUI, you need a Casas Adobes DUI defense lawyer who will aggressively advocate for you and ensure your constitutional rights are protected. Contact The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C. at 520-220-5047 to schedule a free, confidential consultation and find out what legal options you may have for defending against these charges.

Back to Top