The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C.


1-877-MISS-DUI / 1-877-647-7384

Se Habla Español
945 N. Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705

Tucson, Arizona Extreme DUI Defense Lawyer

Pinal County Extreme DUI Defense Attorney

Extreme DUI Defense Attorneys Represent Clients in Pima County, AZ

Not all charges for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol in Arizona are the same or lead to similar consequences. Certain circumstances result in more serious DUI charges and much harsher punishments. For instance, if you were arrested for a DUI and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over .15 percent, you may now face charges for an extreme DUI.

Facing accusations of an extreme DUI is difficult and can be overwhelming. Sometimes, it feels like the situation is hopeless. But when you have an experienced DUI defense attorney at your side, there are always ways to fight back. By working with our DUI defense attorneys at The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C., you gain an experienced representative who is capable of protecting your rights and fighting for your freedom. Call us today at 520-220-5047 to schedule a free consultation.

When You Can Be Convicted of an Extreme DUI

You can be found guilty of an extreme DUI if there is evidence you had a BAC above .15 percent while operating a vehicle or within two hours of driving. This evidence can come from a breath, blood, or urine test.

Consequences of a First-Time Extreme DUI Conviction

If you plead or are found guilty of an extreme DUI, your punishment may include:

  • 30 days in jail
  • Fines and fees of more than $2,500.00
  • A license suspension for at least 90 days
  • One-year of an ignition interlock device when your driver's license is reinstated
  • Drug or alcohol screening and counseling
  • Community service
  • Up to five years of probation

Consequences of a Subsequent Extreme DUI Conviction

If you are convicted of a second or subsequent extreme DUI, then you face harsher mandatory minimums. While a first-time extreme DUI results in a potential 30 days in jail, a second or additional offense results in at least 120 days in jail, 60 days of which must be served consecutively. The minimum fines and fees rise substantially, and you can lose your driver's license for at least one year. You will also face all of the other punishments, including an ignition interlock device, alcohol or drug treatment, and up to five years of probation.

Defending Against an Extreme DUI

Facing DUI charges when you are accused of having a BAC above .15 percent can be intimidating. However, with an experienced DUI defense attorney to fight for you, you can protect your right to a fair trial. We will fight to demonstrate your innocence and restore your freedom. At The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C., we are ready to protect your rights and defend you in court.

Some of the strategies we may be able to use to defend against this charge include:

  • Challenging the legality of the initial stop
  • Questioning the accuracy of the BAC results
  • Questioning the accuracy or validity of the field sobriety test results
  • Arguing to suppress unlawfully obtained evidence

Extreme DUI FAQs


When can I be charged with extreme DUI?

Answer: Whether or not you have previously been convicted of DUI, you can be charged with a more serious offense known as extreme DUI if your BAC far exceeds the legal limit at the time of your arrest. For example, if your BAC is 0.15 or above, you face a 30-day jail sentence in addition to fines and fees of at least $2,500. If your BAC is 0.20 or above, the jail sentence is increased to 45 days and the minimum base fine is doubled. Keep in mind that the jail time can be suspended with the installation of an ignition interlock device: all but 9 days in the case of an extreme DUI, and all but 14 days in the case of a "super extreme" DUI for a BAC above 0.20. Also, many jails offer home detention and work release to reduce the amount of time that those convicted of DUI spend in jail.


What is an Extreme DUI or a Super Extreme DUI?

Answer: These are DUIs where the driver was highly intoxicated. An extreme DUI may be charged if a driver’s BAC was over 0.15%, while a super extreme DUI may be charged if the driver had a BAC greater than 0.20%. An extreme DUI carries a jail sentence of at least 30 days, and a fine of at least $2,500. A super extreme DUI carries a sentence of at least 45 days in jail and a minimum $2,750 fine. The penalties can be significantly steeper for drunk drivers with high BAC levels. An attorney may be able to help people in these situations take steps to reduce their potential jail time.

Call Our Pinal County Lawyers for Help Today

If you are facing a first or second extreme DUI, contact us at The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C. to learn more about your legal options and to obtain a lawyer who will tenaciously protect your Constitutional rights. Contact us at 520-220-5047 to schedule a free consultation.

Back to Top