The Behan Law Group, P.L.L.C.

520-220-5047

1-877-MISS-DUI / 1-877-647-7384

Se Habla Español
945 N. Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705

First-Time DUI FAQs

Q: Will I Lose My Driver’s License if I Am Convicted of DUI?
A: Probably, at least for a while. For a first-time DUI, you could have your license suspended for up to 90 days. This suspension may take effect the same day you are arrested, even before you are found guilty.

Q: Is There a Way to Avoid a License Suspension?
A: You can request a hearing to challenge whether a suspension is appropriate. If you can show that there is a strong reason why your license should not be suspended based on your arrest alone, you may be able to keep driving.

Q: What Conditions Must I Meet to Get My License Reinstated After a DUI Suspension?
A: Before you can drive again, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on any vehicle you routinely drive. You must also complete an alcohol and drug screening, and you may be required to attend substance abuse treatment. In most cases, you will also need to have paid any fines or fees assessed by the court.

Q: What Is a Hardship License?
A: If your license is suspended, but you genuinely need to drive to get to work or school or for substance abuse treatment, you might be able to apply for a restricted license. A restricted license allows you to drive for only limited and specific purposes. However, you must serve 30 days of your license suspension first.

Q: What Are the Penalties for a “Simple” First-Time DUI in Arizona?
A: The minimum jail sentence for a first-DUI conviction in Arizona is 10 days. However, you could be sentenced to up to a year in the county jail. You are also likely to be fined at least $1,250. You may be placed on probation or be ordered to complete community service.

Q: What is an Extreme DUI or a Super Extreme DUI?
A: These are DUIs where the driver was highly intoxicated. An extreme DUI may be charged if a driver’s BAC was over 0.15%, while a super extreme DUI may be charged if the driver had a BAC greater than 0.20%. An extreme DUI carries a jail sentence of at least 30 days, and a fine of at least $2,500. A super extreme DUI carries a sentence of at least 45 days in jail and a minimum $2,750 fine. The penalties can be significantly steeper for drunk drivers with high BAC levels. An attorney may be able to help people in these situations take steps to reduce their potential jail time.

Q: What Is an Aggravated DUI?
A: An aggravated DUI involves circumstances that make the offense more serious than a usual DUI case, such as causing bodily harm to someone. Aggravated DUIs are felony charges. There are multiple reasons that you could have been charged with a felony DUI, even if it is your first DUI. Aggravating factors include carrying a passenger under 15 years old, intoxicated driving without a valid license, injuring or killing someone, and driving the wrong way on a highway.

Q: What Are the Penalties for Aggravated DUI?
A: Because an aggravated DUI is a felony, this crime can carry a sentence of over a year in prison. Sentencing depends on which particular aggravating factor was present. A DUI that causes bodily harm to someone will likely lead to harsher sentencing than a DUI with an expired license. Long periods of parole or probation are common, and getting your license fully reinstated will be challenging. Call an Arizona DUI Lawyer The Behan Law Group is committed to providing exemplary DUI defense. Our skilled Tucson DUI attorneys will fight to have your charges reduced or dismissed. Contact us at 877-647-7384 to receive a free consultation.
Back to Top